Results 2017

What a fabulous week for the 83rd Welwyn Drama Festival! Thank you to all those taking part, the actors, writers, directors, the drama groups, those helping out and supporting, the audience, the adjudicator, the backstage crews, bar staff and front of house team. You have all played your part and contributed to the success of another festival. Thank you!

Please come again next year, and bring your friends!

First place, winners of the Welwyn Cup
Drama Queens, Untucked by Teresa HennessyDrama Queens

The team also won:

Derrick Baldock Cup – Best Unpublished Play

Welwyn Award – Best Actor
shared by Neil Bird and Dean Kiely

Peter Shatford Award for Director of winning play – Jennifer Scott-Reid

FJ Osborn Audience Appreciation Award – shared with Barn Theatre Club

Second place
Winners of the Roy Brewer Cup

Barn Theatre Club, Tell Me On A Sunday, lyrics by Don Black and music by Andrew Lloyd Webber
Barn Tell Me 1

The team also won:

Winifred Butler Award – Best Actress – Tammy Wall

Behrens Steinfeld Trophy – Director showing the most complete & Imaginative Approach – Coral Walton

FJ Osborn Audience Appreciation Award – shared with Drama Queens

Third place

Winners of the Margaret Osborn Trophy

Meridian Theatre, Afterplay by Brian FrielMeridian IMG_7621a

The team also won:

 Charles Pilgrem Trophy – Stage Presentation

Louis Davis Trophy
Adjudicator’s Award for a Special Contribution to the Festival

Just - Jurors (2)Best Theatre Arts (BYTE) for their brilliant chorus work in Just by Ali Smith, directed by Dawn Hudson

Winners of the Waitrose bubbly competition for coming closest to the top 5 placings of the adjudicator:Waitrose bubbly

Sarah Merry, Michael Marsh and Hilary Marsh